Home
Search results “Csg mining illawarra coal”
Coal Seam Gas Mining in Australia
 
06:47
This video discusses the environmental, health and social impacts of CSG activities in Australia. Please click on the link below to show your support: http://www.lockthegate.org.au/legal_right_to_say_no_to_mining List of references used in my video: Australian Broadcasting Corporation. (2015). The Coal Seam Gas Debate. Retrieved from http://www.abc.net.au/sitearchive/rural/coalseamgas/?section=about Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association. (2015). Economic benefits. Retrieved from http://www.naturalcsg.com.au/benefits/economic-benefits/ Hatzakis, M. (2015, October 15). Senator Glenn Lazarus calls for audit of human impact of coal seam gas mining after farmer suicide. Australian Broadcasting Corporation. Retrieved from http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-10-15/senator-glenn-lazarus-calls-for-audit-of-human/6858542 Hepburn, S. (2015, October 29). Who gets to decide whether we dig up coal and gas?. The Conversation. Retrieved from https://theconversation.com/who-gets-to-decide-whether-we-dig-up-coal-and-gas-49896 Lazarus, G. (2015). Petitioning the Turnbull Government: Establish a Royal Commission into the Human Impact of CSG mining. Retrieved from https://www.change.org/p/the-abbott-government-establish-a-royal-commission-into-the-human-impact-of-csg-mining Lock the Gate Alliance. (2015). Your Right to Say No to Mining. Retrieved from http://www.lockthegate.org.au/legal_right_to_say_no_to_mining O’Kane, M. (2014). Final Report of the Independent Review of Coal Seam Gas Activities in NSW. Retrieved from Chief Scientist and Engineer website: www.chiefscientist.nsw.gov.au/__data/.../140930-CSG-Final-Report.pdf Schwartz, D. (2015, October 30). Coal seam gas is an opportunity, not a threat, Queensland farming family says. Australian Broadcasting Corporation. Retrieved from http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-10-29/making-peace-with-csg-extraction-one-farming-family-story/6897316?&section=latest&date=%28none%29 St John, A. (2015). The coal seam gas debate. [Policy brief]. Retrieved from http://www.aph.gov.au/About_Parliament/Parliamentary_Departments/Parliamentary_Library/pubs/BriefingBook44p/GasDebate Taylor, M., Sandy, N. & Raphael, B. (2013). Background Paper on Community Concerns in relation to Coal Seam Gas. Retrieved from Chief Scientist and Engineer website: www.chiefscientist.nsw.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0010/31789/Community-Concerns-in-relation-to-Coal-Seam-Gas_Taylor,-Sandy-and-Raphael_UWS.pdf Vaneckova, P & Bambrick, H. (2014). Approaches to baseline studies of human health in relation to industries with potential environmental impact. Retrieved from Chief Scientist and Engineer website: www.chiefscientist.nsw.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0005/56894/140903_Human-CSG_completed_report.pdf
Views: 1455 Chrystal Elkhouri
Stop CSG Mining in the Illawarra - Fracking Protest
 
04:03
We, at LA' DIVISION feel very strongly against CSG mining in the illawarra, in fact anywhere.... and this is what we have to say....
Views: 161 Marty O'Donnell
Helen Redmond (DEA) on CSG in the Illawarra
 
13:07
NPA Community Pulse presents: Helen Redmond (DEA) on CSG in the Illawarra Filmed at Stop CSG Illawarra meeting, 21 Aug 2011. Stop CSG Illawarra hosted a community forum on coal seam gas, attended by over 200 residents. Many residents have questions and concerns, given the mounting evidence about the impact of coal seam gas mining on drinking water, health and the environment. With seven of the local approvals on Special Area catchment land, the contamination of drinking water is a major concern.
Coal and CSG Protest ABC News 18 August 2011
 
03:17
Protesters disrupt the NSW Mineral Exploration & Investment Conference in Sydney on August 18th to say loud and clear that the people of NSW want to shift to 100% renewable energy, not suffer another scourge of polluting fossil fuel mining. http://stop-csg-illawarra.org http://lockthegate.org.au
Views: 146 Jonathan Doig
Stop Coal Seam Gas Protest walk - Illawarra 16th October 2011
 
03:39
http://www.lisamharrison.com Lord mayor, Gordon Bradbury addressed a crowd of over 3000 participants in the walk over the Seacliff Bridge against Coal Seam Gas. For a small community the numbers and support are very impressive. For more info on STOP CSG in the Illawarra, NSW Region please visit http://stop-csg-illawarra.org/ For info of Coal Seam Gas Extraction (Fracking) please watch the Documentary 'Gasland- The Movie' at http://www.gaslandthemovie.com/
Views: 1038 lisamharrison
How regional towns benefit from mining in NSW
 
03:02
NSW Mining is helping to build communities and generate economic activity across NSW. There are around 40,000 people working in mining in NSW and our mines spend more than $6 billion a year with more than 8,000 businesses based in Sydney and mining regions like the Hunter Valley, Orange, Mudgee, Dubbo, Wollongong and the Illawarra and the far west. Whitehaven Coal is a cornerstone business is the state's north. It's employing more than 2,000 people and growing, generating an increasing economic return, creating jobs and achieving huge things as an employer of Indigenous Australia. NSW mining - Making the future possible. Find out more at www.nswmining.com.au or www.makingthefuturepossible.com.au.
Views: 375 NSW Mining
Stop Coal Seam Gas!  A message to the NSW Government
 
07:01
The NSW Government forgot to ask the community what it thinks of coal seam gas mining. On May 29th, 2011 we told them anyway, in no uncertain terms. Background to CSG in Australia and the Stop CSG Illawarra human sign event on Austinmer Beach, NSW. Footage from Channel Nine's 60 Minutes, ABC's Four Corners, Channel Seven News, ABC News. Video edited by Sharon @ http://www.kontrolproductions.com/
Views: 1442 Stop CSG Illawarra
The People vs CSG. The birth of CSG Free Communities
 
05:01
New and improved version of this film at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Bvx-0DyNsw Please check out! To find out how to make your community CSG Free, go to http://www.csgfreenorthernrivers.org Hundreds of committed citizens of Keerrong and The Channon form a human map of our roads and creeks. The legal system and governments have failed us. Now we're taking a stand. We won't let gas miners contaminate our water, air and land with toxic chemicals. Through grass-roots public meetings and surveys, we reached a 99% majority decision to close our roads and valleys to Coal Seam Gas mining. We're saying to the miners: 'You're not coming here'. As we present the CSG-free road declarations to our mayor, we celebrate the strength of community. This video launches the CSG-free Community Strategy in the Northern Rivers, NSW Australia. We're taking back our communities from the gas miners. To find out how to make your community CSG Free, go to http://www.csgfreenorthernrivers.org Contact: Annie Kia, CSG Free Community Strategy Organiser For still pictures of this event, go to: http://www.flickr.com/photos/davidlowe1970/sets/72157629814892757/ Video Credits - a labour of love from: Brendan Shoebridge (Director/Camera/Editor) David Lowe (Producer/Stills) Ajita Cannings (1st AD) Pancho Colladetti (Camera/Steadicam) Steve Nossiter (Sound Recordist/Music Composer) http://www.stevenossitermusic.com Susie Forster (Camera) Suse Wolf (Camera) Tony Barry (Actor/Activist)
Views: 13857 CSGFree NorthernRivers
6.30 - Coal Seam Gas
 
03:36
Touted as part of Australia's clean energy future, there are now serious concerns over the damaging effects of Coal Seam Gas. See more at tennews.com.au
Views: 122 Channel 10
Helen Redmond.wmv
 
04:51
Dr Helen Redmond, Doctors for the Environment Australia (DEA), speaking at the Stop CSG Illawarra hosted community forum on coal seam gas. August 21 2011. Unfortunately technical problems make this a short recording. See another video here http://vimeo.com/21376559 http://www.stop-csg-illawarra.org http://dea.org.au/
Views: 97 Tony Markham
CSG Mining in our drinking water Catchments
 
04:05
TURN THE SOUND RIGHT UP... In January 2009 - before the election Barry O'Farrell made a speech saying "The next Liberal/National Party will ensure that mining cannot occur in any water catchment area... NO IFS NO BUTS A GUARANTEE!!! This was his promise to all Australians before he was elected as NSW Premier..... Fast forward to September 2012 when the NSW state Government released its Strategic Regional land use Policy.... NOT A SINGLE PART OF NSW IS DECLARED OFF LIMITS TO CSG MINING... including our Water Catchments ....instead 22 leases are renewed, including some that cover drinking water catchments and fracking is given the green light with immediate effect.... We all protested today to say enough is enough.... We are all sick of Politicians lying to us!!! When we are young we are taught by our parents that to lie is a bad thing, When we go to school, our teachers reinforce that rule... and when we are adults, if we lie, we are taught, that its fraud, and if we do it we could go to jail !!! So why is it, that Politicians can get away with tell bold faced lies in public?? The promises they make to us should be like a verbal contract... they break the contract with the Australian public, then they should be held accountable.. they SHOULD have to honour those promises made before an election, and if they don't they should be fired!!! Many people are under the impression that Australia is the land of the free -- I instead say, Australia is now the land of GREED. We are no longer free when mining companies, assisted by our own Government are able to drill, and mine where ever they want. We are no longer free when our water can be contaminated by a cocktail of mining chemicals, all for monetary gain... We are no longer free if we aren't allowed to say NO... We the people Demand Barry O'Farrell KEEP his pre-election Promise and cancel all licences near, and within our catchment areas NOW !!
Views: 473 Crystal Wilson
Coonamble Community Rallies against Coal Seam Gas
 
02:34
A community used to fighting drought, is in its biggest battle yet. This time with Big Mining Companies and the NSW government to protect its most vital resource - water. Over 500 landholders, farmers, families and long-time residents from across Coonamble Shire in northwest NSW, came together this past Saturday in the town of Coonamble, to raise awareness of the major environmental effects coal seam gas (CSG) exploration, taking place in the region by mining giant Santos, can have on the community. CSG is a dangerous mining tactic that could pollute, deplete and contaminate the Great Artesian Basin, the only reliable source of fresh water throughout much of inland Australia that supplies residents, many of whom run working farms, with clean drinking water. The organizing committee went door-to-door to survey landholders and residents across over one million hectares and found an overwhelming consensus. Over 96% of those surveyed voted against coal seam gas mines due to the the damaging effects it could have to the area's water table. Mining companies worldwide have always claimed minimal potential damage to water supplies and natural aquifers. However, recently it was revealed that water leakage from a Santos water storage pond contaminated an aquifer in nearby Pilliga with uranium, at 20x over the recommended safe drinking water level. Also, recently Deputy Premier Andrew Stoner signed a "memorandum of understanding" with the company to accelerate the Pilliga project, guaranteeing a decision on its future by January 23 2015, next year. This has become a major issues and over 200 communities across New South Wales, Victoria and Queensland have declared themselves, "gas field free."The time for these local residents to garner support and stop the massive lobbying machine companies like Santos and others have over the local community needs is now. Learn more at http://www.lockthegate.org.au/. Journalist: Chloe Raines
Underground Coal Gasification 3D Animation
 
02:46
I'm freelance 3d & MotionGraphic Artist From Bandung,West Java, Indonesia I'm creating this 3d Animation Project in September 2013 for Australian based consulting company who offering a broad range of Coal Seam Gas (CSG), www.csgexploration.com if you need my service like this you can contact me: Mobile :+62.813.1398.8488 E-mail : [email protected] Facebook : www.facebook.com/zaghie
Views: 20006 zaghie einstein
CSG Groundwater impacts: ABC TV 7.30 - 31 Jan 2012
 
09:22
ABC 7.30... A scientific report questions whether falling water levels in Thirlmere Lakes National Park near Sydney are due to coal mining and asks what future impacts mining and Coal Seam Gas production may have on groundwater. Full details and transcript at http://www.abc.net.au/7.30/content/2012/s3419966.htm
Views: 568 Stop CSG Illawarra
Sydney residents rally against coal seam gas mining
 
03:56
About 400 people, mostly local residents, rallied on December 19 at Sydney Park in inner-Sydney St Peters to protest plans by the NSW government to allow exploratory drilling for coal seam mining gas in this suburb. It's another case of Labor & Liberal parties putting corporate profit before community needs.
Views: 386 Peter Boyle
The 'Stop CSG' Nanna Rap
 
03:51
For years, the Illawarra Knitting Nannas Against Greed have been campaigning against coal seam gas in their own inimitable way... by knitting (and pestering politicians in the process). Now they're so enraged they've gone all 'gansta' on us! Wanna know why? ... Watch, listen and... RAP ALONG WITH THE HANDY LYRIC SHEET BELOW! Tell me why you knit why you really really knit Tell me why you knit why you really really knit (It’s bad/It’s bad/ Get tough) I’ll tell you why I knit why I really really knit I’ll tell you why I knit, why I knit Coz coal seam gas mining needs redefining Leaking wells and health worries coz of mining Water contaminated, environment abused Wells so close to homes who knows what has oozed Global warming, climate change the planets had enough It’s time for every one of us to stand up and be tough So bad, (So bad, so bad) be tough (Be Tough, Be Tough Be Tough) I wish every well was a wishing well not a leaking hell (Not a leaking hell) Methane can’t be seen by the human eye - doesn’t mean it is clean (It’s not clean) Coal seam gas mines leak methane to the air Even when the wells are closed methane lingers there Carbon’s is bad/ methane’s much worse, Why is nothing done/ profit come first It’s bad, get tough! (No echo) I wish that coal seam mining didn’t wreck your health (It wrecks your health) I wish that coal seam gas leases weren’t arranged by stealth (Arranged by stealth) Chemicals and methane both affect our vigour Tolerate this mining and you really pull the trigger It can make kids sick, the evidence is clear Those of us who know, experience the fear It’s bad, (It’s Bad, It’s Bad) Get tough (Get Tough, Get Tough, Get Tough) Water, water everywhere and not a drop to drink (No Drink. No Drink. Not to Drink) Coal seam gas mining takes us to the brink (To the brink, to the brink, to the brink) Heavy metals, compounds you’ll find these galore That’s what we know about but there is more It’s bad, (It’s Bad, It’s Bad) Get tough (Get Tough, Get Tough, Get Tough) Aquifers affected by horizontal drilling Traces of chemicals into water spilling Salinity is caused when the water spreads on soil Can’t be fixed no matter how hard you toil Waterways poisoned, farming land degraded Apprehension everywhere, people’s homes invaded Cooking, drinking, washing water, all contaminated Coz chemicals and toxins are concentrated I wish our environment was clean and protected (Clean and protected) All around the world coal seam gas has wrecked it (Has wrecked it) Forests swallowed up to make way for the mine Trees are ripped out by shocking design The earth is raped and pillaged wide roads score the land Machines flatten all by company command Destruction of habitat, shelter food and shade Complete devastation, the environment betrayed It’s bad, (It’s Bad, It’s Bad) Get tough (Get Tough, Get Tough, Get Tough) So you ask us why we knit why we really really knit It’s very clear the planet’s had enough It’s time for everyone of us to stand up and be tough (Be Tough/ Be Tough/ Stand Up and be Tough, It’s Bad/It’s Bad/ It’s Bad, It’s Bad It’s Baaaad)
Views: 718 Stop CSG Illawarra
Coal Seam Greed - The mining hoax that got out of control
 
02:29
Coal Seam Greed was going to be a short satire showing Katso and Nowhereman posing as a mining company called Reed Gas and erecting notices stating their intent to explore for unconventional gas or CSG in inner-city Brisbane. The idea was that residents would see the signs, phone and leave messages in response, which would then be incorporated into the video. As luck would have it, one of the parks they put signs in had previously been fenced off for genuine earthworks. A few notices later, and Katso and Nowhereman had their very first coal seam gas exploration in Brisbane. Angry residents did call and leave messages... so did a confused council, a very stressed mining minister's office, the company they said they were a subsidiary of and a curious Chanel 9 news... The entire project was captured on video and for no more than $50, it was an extremely effective action. Follow the link to watch on youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecu5SCYyWGU
COAL SEAM GAS SITES OF THE NORTHERN ILLAWARRA!
 
05:32
With the possible onslaught of gas bore drill sites, here is a little video to weigh in to the debate on what would be the affect into our pristine environmental area of the Northern Illawarra. This area is also under threat from development adjacent to the Australian National Heritage Listed Royal National Park and Garrawarra State Conservation Area. If you want to help to save the unique area, please check out this site which includes a good history of the area at: http://www.otfordeco.com/7drezoning.html AND SUBMISSIONS SUPPORTING THE PROTECTION OF THIS ENVIRONMENTALLY SENSITIVE AREA CAN ALSO BE MADE AT: http://ops.org.au NOTIFICATION WARNING TO OWNERS OF GAS BORE SITES. If any of your sites causes a BUSHFIRE STORM within the areas mentioned in this film resulting in individuals affected property and well being, YOU WILL BE SUED FOR $10 MILLION DOLLARS PER CASE AS OUTLINED IN THIS LEGAL ADVANCE PUBLIC WARNING. YOU ARE ON NOTICE.
Views: 491 Alan Bond
Alan Jones - Mine Expansion into Cataract Dam
 
01:56
Alan Jones - Mine Expansion into Cataract Dam. Audio thanks to Alan Jones and 2GB. Footage thanks to Goldman Environmental Prize. It's crucially important that Ramesh's story about the shocking misdeeds of Jindal Steel and Power is told in Australia, now that they are the parent company of Wollongong Coal, which wants to undertake risky underground mining beneath the Illawarra and Sydney's drinking water catchment. Wollongong Coal wants to push its operations further into the Lake Cataract catchment — one of the key water resources for the Illawarra and Macarthur, and a back-up reservoir for Sydney. WaterNSW is warning 7.3 million litres of water per day could be lost. "I want people in NSW to assess Wollongong Coal’s project with full knowledge of JSPL’s corporate record in India. When you know what I know, I don’t think you’ll want this company in your catchment." — Ramesh Agrawal
Bulli Memorial
 
03:12
81 men and boys were killed in an underground coal mine in Bulli on 23rd March, 1886 in one of the largest industrial disasters in Australian History. More info http://illawarra-heritage-trail.com.au or www.beneathblackskies.com.au
Views: 446 Yesterday Stories
Underground drill rig for coal bed methane drainage
 
07:52
As a new technology in engineering field, underground directional drilling technology of coal mine has been widely used in borehole drilling in gas drainage, water hazard control, geological exploration and accurate drilling fields. ZDY6000LD(A) directional drilling rig, mud pulse transmission MWD system, assorted drilling tools and combined directional drilling technique are developed to solve current technical limitation of direction drilling. The whole set of equipment appears significant advantages. These advantages include enlarged power, high borehole accident handing capacity and high wireless MWD accuracy. Meanwhile, less drilling cutting and small borehole curvature are expected to generate by combined directional drilling technique.
Views: 2290 Owen Ji
Jeremy Buckingham discussed the Greens plan to phase out coal mining in NSW on ABC Illawarra
 
08:55
Greens mining spokesperson Jeremy Buckingham discussed the Greens plan to phase out coal mining in NSW and transition to a jobs rich clean energy future based on renewables on ABC Illawarra - 10 February 2015
Views: 57 Jeremy Buckingham
Christine Milne on coal seam gas, fracking, new coal mining and the National Party
 
05:43
Christine Milne speaks in the Senate on coal seam gas, fracking, new coal mining and the National Party
Views: 1817 The Australian Greens
Stop Coal Seam Gas Mining Rally - time lapse
 
00:43
Time lapse of people forming a 'Stop Coal Seam Gas' human sign on Austinmer beach on Sunday 29 May 2011. Photo by: Dave Corbett
Tom Fontaine (Ormill Energy) on CSG in the Illawarra
 
14:56
NPA Community Pulse presents: Tom Fontaine (Ormill Energy) on CSG in the Illawarra Filmed at Stop CSG Illawarra meeting, 21 Aug 2011. Stop CSG Illawarra hosted a community forum on coal seam gas, attended by over 200 residents. Many residents have questions and concerns, given the mounting evidence about the impact of coal seam gas mining on drinking water, health and the environment. With seven of the local approvals on Special Area catchment land, the contamination of drinking water is a major concern. Tom Fontaine (the Managing Director of Ormil Energy, one of the CSG mining companies with approval to drill locally) told the meeting waste water disposal would be sub contracted out. Stop CSG Illawarra called on Fontaine to enter into an agreement with the community, guaranteeing that no fracking would happen under the local licences.
Ron Hoenig MP speech to parliament banning  supporting Coal Seam from Sydney's Water Catchment
 
10:41
Ron Hoenig MP's speech in parliament on debate on NSW government's refusal to support banning Coal Seam Gas mining in Sydney's and the Illawarra's water catchment area. Can't fish or swim, but can mine coal seam gas. What a joke.
Views: 47 Ron Hoenig
CSG will cost jobs: WIN News 05 November 2012
 
00:59
WIN News report on the Stop CSG Illawarra meeting, 5 November 2012. The meeting featured a presentation by Mark Ogge of The Australia Institute, looking at the hidden costs of Australia's mining boom and, in particular, coal seam gas.
Views: 232 Stop CSG Illawarra
Alan Lindsay (retired-Caltex) on CSG in the Illawarra
 
14:53
NPA Community Pulse presents: Alan Lindsay (retired-Caltex) on CSG in the Illawarra Filmed at Stop CSG Illawarra meeting, 21 Aug 2011. Stop CSG Illawarra hosted a community forum on coal seam gas, attended by over 200 residents. Many residents have questions and concerns, given the mounting evidence about the impact of coal seam gas mining on drinking water, health and the environment. With seven of the local approvals on Special Area catchment land, the contamination of drinking water is a major concern.
The Community Has Spoken. Stop Coal Seam Gas!
 
03:19
TO VIEW ON MOBILE: go to http://vimeo.com/50115726 An inspiring record of the coal seam gas protests on October 16 2011 and a message to the NSW Government. The community has spoken. Is the government listening?
Views: 3674 Stop CSG Illawarra
CSG Stop
 
01:03
References Lock the Gate Alliance, 2015. Risks of Coal and Unconventional Gas Mining. Retrieved 1st April 2016, from http://www.lockthegate.org.au/risks_of_coal_and_unconventional_gas_mining ABC, 2012. Salt and other contaminants. Retrieved 30th March, 2016, from http://www.abc.net.au/news/specials/coal-seam-gas-by-the-numbers/waste/ Green, R., J., 2015. Wild Life Tourism Australia: Coal Seam Gas, Coal Mines and Australian Wildlife. Retrieved 1st April 2016, from http://www.wildlifetourism.org.au/discussions/conservation-of-wildlife-and-habitats/coal-seam-gas-and-australian-wildlife/ Office of the Chief Economist, 2015. Australian Government, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science: Review of the Socioeconomic impacts of coal seam gas in Queensland. Retrieved 16th March 2016, from http://www.industry.gov.au/Office-of-the-Chief-Economist/Publications/Documents/coal-seam-gas/Socioeconomic-impacts-of-coal-seam-gas-in-Queensland.pdf The Conversation, 2011. National Water Commission calls for a closer look at fracking. Retrieved 1st April, from http://theconversation.com/national-water-commission-calls-for-a-closer-look-at-fracking-3498 Stop CSG Illawarra, 2014. How fracking poisoned the water. Retrieved 1st April 2016, from http://stop-csg-illawarra.org/2014/how-fracking-poisoned-the-water/ ABC Rural, 2016. The Coal Seam Gas Debate. Retrieved 2nd April 2016, from http://www.abc.net.au/site-archive/rural/coalseamgas/?section=about Science Alert, 2012. Protecting Australia’s buried treasure. Retrieved 2nd April 2016, from http://www.sciencealert.com/news/20121501-23004.html National Water Commission, 2016. Ground Water Essentials. Retrieved 2nd April 2016, from http://www.nwc.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0020/21827/Groundwater_essentials.pdf
Views: 18 Tobius Mott
Thirlmere Lakes & coal mining - ABC TV 730 - 31 January 2012
 
09:23
Thirlmere Lakes & coal mining - ABC TV 730 - 31 January 2012 ABC looks at the damage long wall coal mining and potentially coal seam gas is doing to aquifers and lakes on the Illawarra escarpment South of Sydney.
Views: 659 Jeremy Buckingham
Darkes Forest site visit: CSG mining in our water catchment
 
02:29
CSG mining in Sydney / Illawarra Water Catchment areas (Darkes Forest) NPA Community Pulse visits a proposed drilling site on public water catchment land at the edge of the magnificent Dharawal reserve and our biodiverse upland swamps. We speak with geoscientist Ann Young, an engineer and ex-CEO of Caltex Alan Lindsay, as well as various community leaders about the impacts of what is being proposed. Extended discussions from this feature will be available shortly.
No catchment protection in new CSG rules : WIN News 19 Feb 2013
 
01:53
In an about-turn, the NSW government has introduced new rules and restrictions for CSG mining, but yet again Barry O'Farrell fails to live up to his "no ifs, no buts" promise to protect water catchments.
Views: 225 Stop CSG Illawarra
Dollars In Their Eyes
 
04:48
Dollars In Their Eyes Song written by Ian Hall -------------- no csg party coal seam gas mining facts citrix no csg coal seam gas wiki coal seam gas mining, csg mining, negative things about coal seam gas what is coal bed methane, coal seam gas mining wik, coal seam gas mining jobs, abc coal seam gas mining, disadvantages of coal seam gas mining, coal seam gas mining illawarra, coal seam gas mining process, stop coal seam gas mining, impacts of coal seam gas mining, coal and seam gas services, coal seam gas by the numbers, what is coal seam gas used for, reach coal seam gas, stop coal seam gas, centre for coal seam gas, coal seam gas jobs, csg mining facts, coal seam gas process, csg mining jobs, uses of coal bed methane, coal seam gas, problems with coal seam gas, negative effects of coal seam gas, coal seam gas good or bad, no coal seam gas stickers, what is coal bed methane used for, coal bed methane adalah, coal bed methane wiki, coal bed methane extraction, what is coal bed methane and why is it controversial, coal based methane, enhanced coal bed methane, coal bed methane water, coal bed methane definition, formation of coal bed methane, coal bed methane vs shale gas, coal bed methane production, coal bed methane fracking, coal bed methane drilling, methane hydrates, coal seam gas what is it, coal bed methane (cbm), natural gas vs coal seam gas, coal seam gas formation, coal definition, coal bed methane extraction wiki, coal bed methane extraction process, coal bed methane extraction pros and cons, methane gas extraction, http en wikipedia org wiki coal bed methane extraction, coalbed methane wikipedia the free encyclopedia, coal based methane gas, what is coal-bed methane and why is it controversial coal seam gas production coal bed methane gas water treatment coal bed methane lease coalbed methane production why is coal bed methane controversial cbm well csg protest tara coal seam gas protest csg protest chinchilla men fined for coal seam gas protest williams coal seam gas royalty trust coal seam gas austinmer shale gas austinmer protest oil spill gulf of mexico 2010 facts oil spill gulf of mexico 2012 oil spill gulf of mexico 2013 oil spill gulf of mexico 2010 article shell oil spill gulf of mexico oil spill gulf of mexico 2010 facts for kids bp oil spill gulf of mexico 2010 timeline oil spill gulf of mexico environmental damage gulf of mexico oil spill wiki bp oil spill facts gulf oil spill update 2012 how did bp clean up the oil spill bp gulf of mexico oil spill bp oil spill update bp oil spill gulf of mexico facts shell oil spill gulf of mexico oil spill conference 2013 gulf of mexico oil spill information gulf of mexico oil spill facts gulf of mexico oil spill article gulf of mexico oil spill 2010 gulf of mexico oil spill how did it happen gulf of mexico oil spill effects gulf of mexico oil spill date oil spill gulf of mexico 2010 article for kids bp oil spill oil spill 2011 bp gulf spill bp oil spill 2010 where did the bp oil spill happen new oil spill in gulf of mexico shell sheen gulf of mexico oil sheen shell oil sheen gulf oil slick gulf oil leak 2011 oil spill shell oil slick bp oil spill gulf of mexico 2010 facts bp oil spill article for kids gulf of mexico oil spill information for kids bp oil spill information for kids bp oil spill facts for kids gulf oil spill article for kids bp oil spill how did it happen 2010 deepwater horizon oil spill in the gulf of mexico bp oil spill timeline 2011 gulf coast oil spill timeline what caused the oil spill in the gulf oil spill gulf of mexico 2010 environmental impact environmental after effects of bp oil spill gulf of mexico oil spill effects on the environment bp oil spill damage environmental effects of bp oil spill environmental impact of bp oil spill 2010 environmental effects of bp oil spill 2010 gulf coast oil spill effects effects of the oil spill ecological effects of bp oil spill effects of the oil spill in the gulf bp oil spill environmental impact bp oil spill effects on environment facts about the bp oil spill bp oil spill effects on the environment gulf of mexico oil spill environmental impact bp oil spill damage cost bp environmental damage bp oil spill damage to the environment noaa oil spill scientists find massive damage oil spill loop current oil spill data bp oil spill damage to wildlife 2010 bp oil spill effects gulf oil spill effects on environment gulf war oil spill environmental effects what effects did the gulf oil spill have on the environment damage from bp oil spill impact of bp oil spill on the environment oil spills in 2012 effects of bp oil spill 2010 Dollars In Their Eyes Dollars In Their Eyes Dollars In Their Eyes
Views: 722 Mianta ByronBay
Coal Seam Gas Mining the Human sign
 
14:35
On Sunday the 29th May, close to 3000 people gathered on Austinmer beach to create a human sign in protest to Coal Seam Gas Mining. This short video includes some of what those people had to say.
An Incredibly Amateur Video Made About an Incredibly Awesome Event - Stop CSG.
 
03:51
October 16 2011 - Stop CSG action - Walk for Water - Sea Cliff Bridge, northern Illawarra. "15 coal seam gas (CSG) wells have been approved for development in the northern Illawarra. Further wells are being discussed and applied for in the region. These wells are in and around the Sydney Water Catchment, and pose a direct threat to our water supply. We are worried because CSG mining always involves contaminated water as extraction of gas draws water out of the coal seam that is highly saline and can contain toxic and radioactive compounds, endocrine disruptors and heavy metals; When using hydraulic fracturing (or fracking), contaminates large quantities of fresh water with sand and chemicals that are pumped underground; Lowers the fresh water table; Is a fire hazard, as wells, processing plants and pipelines leak; Risks a range of direct and indirect health impacts such heart, lung, kidney and neurological problems and cancer; Has a global warming impact that is as bad if not worse than coal, over a twenty year period." -- From the Stop CSG Illawarra website. In May 2011, 3000 people gathered on the beach to form a human sign in opposition to CSG. This was the next action. ---- Video footage from the internet and music used w/o permission, w/o intent to infringe copyright.
Views: 454 wolfwomannn
Ten News reports on launch of Stop CSG Illawarra's water catchment ban petition - June 29 2012
 
01:37
Coverage from Ten News of the media conference to launch Stop CSG Illawarra's new petition - to ban CSG mining in our water catchments. NSW Premier Barry O'Farrell made a promise, pre-election - "The next Liberal-National Government will ensure that mining cannot occur... in any water catchment area, and will ensure that mining leases and mining exploration permits reflect that common sense; no ifs, no buts, a guarantee" ... yet in government has given approval for CSG mining within our water catchments. Is it too much to ask for him to keep his word?
Views: 478 Stop CSG Illawarra
Kirsty Ruddock (Environment Defenders Office) on CSG in the Illawarra
 
14:50
NPA Community Pulse presents: Kirsty Ruddock (Environment Defenders Office) on CSG in the Illawarra Filmed at Stop CSG Illawarra meeting, 21 Aug 2011. Stop CSG Illawarra hosted a community forum on coal seam gas, attended by over 200 residents. Many residents have questions and concerns, given the mounting evidence about the impact of coal seam gas mining on drinking water, health and the environment. With seven of the local approvals on Special Area catchment land, the contamination of drinking water is a major concern.
Darkes Forest site visit: CSG mining in our water catchment
 
02:29
CSG mining in Sydney / Illawarra Water Catchment areas (Darkes Forest) NPA Community Pulse visits a proposed drilling site on public water catchment land at the edge of the magnificent Dharawal reserve and our biodiverse upland swamps. We speak with geoscientist Ann Young, Alan Lindsay - an engineer and former executive, as well as various community leaders about the impacts of what is being proposed. Extended discussions from this feature are available on the NPANSW youtube channel.
Question on Illawarra 'No Coal Seam Gas' human sign - Jeremy Buckingham
 
01:22
Question on Illawarra 'No Coal Seam Gas' human sign to Minister for the Illawarra, The Hon. Greg Pearce by Greens MPs, The Hon. Jeremy Buckingham in the NSW Parliament - 27 May 2011.
Foaming coal seam gas well - Jeremy Buckingham
 
01:29
Jeremy Buckingham, Greens MP, films a coal seam gas well that was spurting gas, foam and liquid into the air only 100 metres from a open water supply canal and 400 metres from homes in the Sydney suburb of Glen Alpine. See a PDF map - http://www.jeremybuckingham.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/Map-of-foaming-gas-well.pdf
Views: 1763 The Australian Greens
Sydney has it's own burning river: the Nepean River!
 
03:04
This video also shows major cracking to Waratah Riverlet both damaged by longwall coal mining. Despite this appalling damage, longwall mines continue to expand with a number of new longwall mining panels underway and new underground coal mines proposed for the Sydney drinking water catchments. Extraordinary as it seems, and despite promises to the contrary, Sydney's drinking water catchment which is vital to the health and wellbeing of 4.3 million people is not safe from coal mining and its impacts. Share and join our ‪#‎Water4Life16‬ campaign to protect our water this Federal Election: http://www.lockthegate.org.au/water4life
Sydney Drinking Water under threat from Coal Seam Gas Mining
 
06:22
Do you live in Sydney & drink water? Concerned residents are standing up against the NSW State Governments plans to approve over 150 Coal Seam Gas (CSG) wells to be drilled within the drinking water catchments! The Primary Industries Minister Katrina Hodgkinson has overhauled Sydney Catchment Authority board and she has not appointed anyone with medical qualifications. It is the first time since 1998 that the board has not included a public health expert. Even more concerning, a person with umpteen mining directorships, Mark Bethwaite, is appointed to head up the Sydney Catchment Authority. On 12 July 2013 we had a huge win for the campaign to stop CSG and protect our water! The Planning Assessment Commission refused Apex Energy's application to drill 16 CSG wells in and around the drinking water catchment for greater Sydney. 2013 is an election year in Australia - if you act now, you can make a huge difference in ensuring Coal Seam Gas mining is stopped within all of our water catchments. Write or speak to your local MP about your concerns on this issue. And join your local Stop CSG group to see how else you can get involved! http://stopcsg.org/ourwater/ Thank you to our tour organiser Josie Evans & all the passionate residents of the Stop Coal Seam Gas Sydney & Sydney Water Catchment groups for making this tour possible. And for the amazing efforts of the Stop CSG Illawarra, thank you for empowering & supporting our communities to stand up & make a difference! Written/directed/edited by Ellena Fliker. Voice over & music composition by Sasha Flikier. Sound recording by Katie Fitzgerald.
Views: 223 Ellena Flikier
NSW Parliament - CSG People's Petition Debate 15 March 2012
 
20:44
Full video of the coal seam gas 'People's Petition' debate in the NSW Parliament on March 15 2012. 20,000+ members of the community signed the petition for a moratorium on all CSG mining until the outcome of a Royal Commission, and a complete ban on fracking. The resulting dysfunctional "debate" you can witness in full here is indicative of the contempt that our politicians now hold for genuine public concern... for YOUR opinion.
Views: 2044 Stop CSG Illawarra
Protecting Our Land and Water from Coal Seam Gas Mining.m4v
 
05:11
Citizens from across New South Wales protest against coal seam gas mining outside state parliament in Sydney and march in St Peters in 2011 concerned for their urban and agricultural land which is at risk. After the parliamentary debate 15/3/12 Indigenous activist Lyle Davis is interviewed about the grave dangers to indigenous cultural heritage and our drinking water. This growing movement culminates in the Land and Water rally on May 1st 2012. See also http://nocoalseamgasmininginsydneyphotos.blogspot.com.au/ and music video at Our Land Our Water Our Future.mov Filmed and edited by Bernadette Smith with thanks to Eora College. Paintings by Paul Davis and special thanks to Isobel McIntosh for CSG mining site photographs in the Pilliga region.
Views: 201 Bernadette Smith
John Broomhall - Frack me!
 
00:35
3,000 people spelt out their opposition to coal seam gas mining in the Illawarra by making a human sign in the sand at Austinmer Beach north of Wollongong. John Broomhall plays 'Frack Me" a song opposing the fracking process where gas is extracted from the environment with devastating consequences. Visit this website to find out more about the damage coal seam gas mining does to the environment and drinking water: http://stop-csg-illawarra.org/ http://www.myspace.com/johnbroomhalljohnnyspillanedaviddesanti
Views: 226 zyonchilde
LOCK THE GATE rally against coal seam gas mining, Martin Place
 
09:00
A summary of the LOCK THE GATE rally against coal seam gas mining in Martin Place, Sydney on Sunday the 20/03/2011
Views: 327 nogasmininginsydney
Human Sign to Stop Coal Seam Gas - ABC News May 29 2011
 
01:51
Coverage of the 3000+ people, human sign to Stop Coal Seam Gas on Austinmer beach, NSW, Australia on May 29th 2011.
Views: 2082 Stop CSG Illawarra
CSG Community Forum - ABC News Aug 21 2011
 
01:59
ABC News coverage of 'Stop CSG Illawarra' Coal Seam Gas Community Forum, Thirroul Community Centre August 21 2011.
Views: 427 Stop CSG Illawarra