Home
Search results “Mining rehabilitation process for running”
'Bare minimum' rehabilitation plan for mine
 
01:01
Aerial footage supplied by the Lock the Gate Alliance shows the site of the former Ebenezer coalmine near Ipswich – which will remain a cratered landscape after the Queensland government accepted a rehabilitation plan from the site's current owner A readymade garbage dump: Queensland allows 'bare minimum' mine rehab https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/apr/27/a-readymade-garbage-dump-queensland-allows-bare-minimum-mine-rehab Subscribe to Guardian News ► http://bit.ly/guardianwiressub Support the Guardian ► https://theguardian.com/supportus The Guardian ► https://www.theguardian.com The Guardian YouTube network: The Guardian ► www.youtube.com/theguardian Owen Jones talks ► http://bit.ly/subsowenjones Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball Guardian Sport ► http://bit.ly/GDNsport Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture Guardian Science and Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech
Views: 1843 Guardian News
Mine Reclamation
 
04:00
Mining has shaped this corner of Alaska since before it was a national park. Scientists and contractors are now working to reclaim and stabilize many old and abandoned mine sites. (Dedicated in memory of Phil Brease.) (Open Captions. Running Time 03:59)
Views: 9150 DenaliNPS
Mining Your Own Business: Quarry Mining
 
04:07
There are thousands of businesses that work with the mining industry in NSW. Hear the story of Quarry Mining, a manufacturer of high quality drilling equipment.
Views: 1295 NSW Mining
Black owned South African company focused on mine dump rehabilitation
 
07:16
From Creamer Media in Johannesburg, this is the Real Economy Report. Black owned green technology company G-Tech is currently running a mine dump rehabilitation project in Randfonetin, West of Johannesburg, on one of South Africa-focused gold miner Mintails’ tailings sites. Anine Vermeulen has the story.
Views: 368 CreamerMedia
How a quarry works
 
07:40
Quarry managers explain how rock is formed and how they extract different layers
Views: 131054 GeologyLogic
Sentry Kanmantoo Case Study
 
03:45
Hillgrove Resources Ltd Senior Geotechnical Engineer Bruce Hutchison discusses how the company uses Maptek Sentry for monitoring at the Kanmantoo Copper Mine.
Views: 993 MaptekVideo
Park Mine Reclamation Project
 
05:17
The DEQ AML program completed the Park Mine reclamation project in 2016.
San Juan Mining and Reclamation Conference - 2015
 
09:33
This video was produced by Alex Pullen and James Mirabal for the Mountain Studies Institute, based out of Silverton Colorado. The film covers the two day event itself and is targeted for High School students. Upon completion MSI delivered the film to High Schools around the San Juan Mountains of southwestern Colorado in hopes of inspiring the next generation of scientist and advocates that will help our communities clean up the historic mines, waste sites, and mills throughout Colorado. The Mountain Studies Institute, along with their partners, host an annual San Juan Mining and Reclamation Conference that each year highlights a different San Juan Mountain communities’ mining heritage and successes in addressing mine remediation and water quality improvement. The conference is free and open to the public, and provides an educational opportunity for the public and other stakeholders to learn from industry professional about the science and policy of mining, mine lands remediation, improving mining practices, and water quality as it pertains to non-point source pollution. The San Juan Mining and Reclamation Conference provides an opportunity to discuss, educate and collaborate on the importance of clean up and reclamation of abandoned mines like the Gold King for public health. There are hundreds of mine adits, just like the Gold King that leak contaminated water into Cement Creek, and thereby the Animas River, every day. The importance of clean up and reclamation of all our upstream mines on water quality was horrifically apparent this month, but serves as a reminder of what we are silently contending with every day.
Views: 75 Alex Pullen
Outotec Dry Tailings Management Solutions
 
04:12
Dry tailings disposal offers significant benefits in terms of environmental sustainability, process water recovery, and footprint of the tailings storage facility. The Outotec Dry Tailings Plant is a fully integrated design that comprises thickening, filtration, and dry material handling for tailings dry stacking, including all necessary ancillary equipment and systems. This plant is particularly suited to areas where water consumption is a sensitive issue, or where there are strict requirements in terms of the safe operation, tailings management, and eventual mine closure and rehabilitation.
Views: 1152 OutotecOyj
SMCRA at 40
 
07:45
2017 was the 40th anniversary of the signing of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act which regulates surface coal mining and provides funding to mitigate hazards and environmental damage caused by mines abandoned prior to the law taking effect.
Views: 233 Environment Matters
Arltunga Open Cut Gold Mine
 
01:59
A large open cut mining operation ripped open a range of hills to extract gold. The mine appears abandoned, including well over $1 million worth of equipment. The company went broke, apparently, leaving a nasty environmental mess behind. No attempt has been made to rehabilitate the landscape.
Views: 6406 Stephen Swayne
Cleaning up Century zinc mine under Qld's Gulf Communities Agreement
 
01:58
17/09/2018 Economic rehabilitation has started at what was once the world's largest open cut zinc mine, with the company extracting minerals from the waste dam. http://www.abc.net.au/news/rural/2018-09-17/century-mine-from-waste-dam-to-zinc-mine/10253334
Views: 41 Qldaah
Philsaga Rescue Team
 
00:50
Views: 34666 mx
Gold Rush Expeditions, Inc.® Presents: The Independence Mine - Grant County, Oregon
 
08:55
The Independence Mine is the larger development of the Cougar/Independence Mines. The Independence consists of over 2000’ of workings on gold veins and lodes running through the property. The mine was last worked in 1950 and had produced 22,509 oz of gold since 1907. Reserves have been estimated but not blocked. The ore at the 650 (main) level was reported assayed at 1.06 oz/T AU and 9.3 oz/T AG. The Independence property also boasts a large mill which was in production as late as 1942 when it was completely rebuilt. Today it is largely collapsed and unusable. There are considerable tailings, of which some are working into the creek in the form of fine black sands with some fleck gold. The workings at the Independence are not complete by any means and reports state that wide gold bodies are still in place. The mine requires rehabilitation in its current state, but an upfront initial investment will yield massive returns. The mines production record of over 22,000 ounces of gold is more than many districts combined mining operation totals. The mine was shut down in 1950 due to the death of the mine foreman and never re-opened on a commercial scale. Today the mine has fallen largely into disrepair. There are some buildings intact at the main camp, but nothing of major use. The concrete pads will likely be the most usable remnants of the old mining operation.
Mining, Ecological Engineering and Metals Extraction for the 21st Century
 
56:03
Speaker: Margarete Kalin, Research Director and President of Boojum Research Ltd. This webinar is an introduction to a recent contribution on sustainable mining, remediation and metal extraction to the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science, Problems and Solutions. Co- authors are M. Kalin, Michael P. Sudbury and Dr. Bryn Harris. The mining industry developed in an age when resources, space and water appeared limitless. A paradigm shift is needed in mining, remediation and extractive metal processes. Human’s insatiable appetite for metals is estimated to produce annually 20 billion tons of waste rock and tailings, covering about 1000 km2 of land. The annual consumption of fresh water is estimated to be about 80 10-9 tons, most of it will be contaminated. A collision course is on the horizon, given shortages of water and arable land and the ever-increasing global population. The key to a solution to the present un-sustainable environmental management practices lays in ecologist’s view of mining wastes as extreme primordial environments. Natural recovery processes can be supported through ecological engineering measures. This starts with exploration and through to operations, ending with decommissioning. By providing physical and chemical support to promote existing ecological processes within the wastes, we can alter the surface of minerals, thereby decreasing contaminant generation and reducing the volume of drainage by promoting run-off. Supporting the growth of indigenous biota leading to increased agglomeration of contaminant on the cell surfaces and upon death the biomass with its contaminants sinks to the sediments. Through bio-mineralization in the sediment, the metals are stabilized, potentially generating in the long-term biogenic ore bodies. All processes are implemented within the mine waste and water management area. Brief examples are given of: -Acid Reduction Using Microbiology through sediment construction; -Alterations of the mineral surface on waste rock reducing sulphide oxidation by effective nutrient supply carried into the wastes by rain and; -Biological polishing “in alkaline and acid mine waste water by a pH adjustment (if needed) and adjusting nutrient imbalances; -Estimates of reductions in waste generation using efficient metals extraction processes. Boojum’s multidisciplinary team of scientists guided by experts of the industry, has laid the foundation for ecological engineering in publications and field demonstration projects. Moving forward we need to evaluate these demonstration project to use the results to build confidence in the approach of ecological engineering, only then can we achieve the paradigm shift needed for the future of the industry. Learn about the speaker: Margarete Kalin is Research Director and President of Boojum Research Ltd. The R& D firm in collaboration with mining companies, the Canadian government and research organizations , has developed and demonstrated an ecological toolkit, that leads to a self-sustaining decommissioned mine waste and water management area. More than 100 scientific publications, numerus chapters in technical books documenting the natural processes and approximately 150 project reports are available on line at http://biblio.laurentian.ca/boojum. Margarete received the Noranda Award for Outstanding Achievements in Land Reclamation from the Canadian Land Reclamation Association and the Teck-Cominco Environmental Award from the Canadian Institute for Mining and Metallurgy (CIM). She was nominated in 2005 as a Distinguished Lecturer by the CIM. She is certified as a QEP (Qualified Environmental Professional ) by the Institute of Professional Environmental Practice and as a Senior Ecologist by the Ecological Society of America. She has been Adjunct Professor at several Canadian universities. Learning Objectives/Takeaways Recognize the potential of ecological natural recovery mechanisms and their support measures Technologies to reduce water consumption and waste production
Fight for Country
 
49:46
In 1998, over 5,000 people traveled to Kakadu, in the Northern Territory, to stand alongside the traditional owners of the land, the Mirrar people, and lend their support to the Jabiluka Campaign. The fight to prevent the development of the Jabiluka uranium mine was one of the biggest protest movements in Australia's history. Fight for Country (2006) is just one of the many films that our Australian Mediatheque is digitising. Discover more about the process on our website. Detailed catalogue entry information: http://collections.acmi.net.au/objects/158247
Views: 1672 ACMI
Living Near Hell; How Coking Coal is Choking Jharia
 
04:44
26th March | Madra Panchayat, Jharia Block, Dhanbad District, Jharkhand | Bharti Kumari The operations of Bharat Coking Coal Limited, in Jharia Block, have destroyed most signs of a once normal life. Everything is now shrouded under a sick smoke emitting from the coal fires burning in mines underground and overground. Through her many reports community correspondent Bharti is putting together the pieces of a puzzle which reflects the dangers of such operations on the lives of local communities. The land in Jairamdih was acquired with land from two other villages, Daultadih, Benidih in the 1990s with a promise that residents would be compensated, rehabilitated and also be given jobs at the mines. It was at this time that BCCL started dumping coal on the land near Jairamdih spreading the coal fire that had till then been contained to the neighbouring area of Madhuvan. The original inhabitants of the area were then forced to move as life got more and more difficult. Despite this, the rehabilitation process was never completed as the land that was meant to be given to the displaced farmers has been since bought off by people who work at BCCL and other private owners. While around 200 people have gotten jobs, others are yet to receive these. The Coking coal that comes out of these mines plays a huge role in running the steel industry; BCCL provides about 50% of India's total supply. It is estimated that over half of the coal has been lost to the fires burning underground for at least a 100 years. In the meantime, BCCL and the Indian government have done little to contain these fires and next to nothing for the lives destroyed to feed the steel industry.
Views: 3885 VideoVolunteers
First Mine Branch Restoration Project
 
04:08
A stream restoration by Ecotone, Inc. at the First Mine site using sustainable resources
Views: 533 Ecotone, Inc.
Gold miners of Marsabit
 
03:25
Moyale residents turn to gold for livelihood. The dry land boasts of sizeable gold deposits
Views: 12561 Kenya CitizenTV
Idarado Mine Remediation – Horntvedt
 
01:07:35
Idarado Mine Remediation – A Discussion of Remedial Alternatives and Developing a Viable Path Forward Devon Horntvedt, Worthington Miller Environmental San Juan Mining and Reclamation Conference May 25, 2017 Ouray, Colorado
Chasing the rainbow
 
07:59
We go down below with the miners of Lightning Ridge, NSW, on their never-ending search for the opal that could “change their lives.” Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SBS2Australia Twitter: https://twitter.com/thefeedsbs Insta: https://instagram.com/sbs2australia Tumblr: http://thefeedsbs.tumblr.com/
Views: 241492 The Feed
2014 Abandoned Mine Land Reclamation Awards Presentation Video
 
13:39
2014 Abandoned Mine Land Reclamation Awards Presentation Video
Views: 2548 OSMRE
Snowbird Clean Up Your Mine Tailings - Yankee Mine. Globe Mine
 
02:56
AMERICAN FORK CANYON, Utah County -- Debris from the tailings from more than 100 abandoned mines in the north fork area above Tibble Fork Reservoir has already pushed the mineral content in the American Fork River beyond acceptable water quality limits. U.S. Forest Service officials have consequently called in a hazardous materials expert, Ted Fitzgerald, to conduct an expensive cleanup and reclamation operation that's just a step below being classified as a Superfund site. "We're looking at a major reclamation effort in the canyon," said Fitzgerald, on-scene coordinator for the American Fork Canyon Hazmat Project. He said the effort was designated in 1993 by the Environmental Protection Agency as a Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Inventoried Site. "That's in the same category as a Superfund site," he said. It's also legally necessary to comply with the stipulations in the Clean Water Act passed in 1972, he said. Targeted as the primary pollution sites are the Pacific Mine, the Globe Mine, the Bog Mines, the Yankee Mines and the area of Dutchman Flat. The Bog Mine soil samples show high levels of both lead and zinc. The Yankee Mines in the Mary Ellen Gulch area show a high level of both lead and zinc. The Pacific Mine showed a higher level of arsenic than recommended for human consumption, as well as lead, in four out of four fish tested. But there are more than 100 known mines in the canyon north fork of the American Fork Mining District -- mines left from an era that didn't yet recognize the need to protect fragile environments for future generations. The Pacific Mine site is the worst offender, but the Globe Mine is located almost directly on the stream, the Bog Mines are not far, and the other mines are releasing effluent material including a precipitate composed of iron and copper known as "Yellow Boy" that is staining the nearby soil. "It's good that it's here instead of into the stream," Fitzgerald said. From 1871 to 1876, more than $2.5 million in gold, silver and various ores were taken from the canyon mines by early miners who made quick money on their claims. The heyday was largely from 1870 through to 1912, with some renewed activity continuing into 1945. Most serious mining stopped in the 1930s, although Fitzgerald said some mines are occasionally worked. The metals, some of which are ground into fine grit by the milling process, wash out of the tailing piles and into the streams. Tiny organisms -- known as macroinvertebrates -- then absorb the metals, some of which are toxic. Since the macroinvertebrates are the main source of food for fish in the local water, the fish are left with less to eat and what they consume is heavily laced with metals. Cutthroat and brown trout samples collected in August showed high concentrations of the metals, especially arsenic and lead. Beaver dams on the river help some because the metals are collected by the natural compost. But when the streams and rivers run high, the metal components wash out and back into the water supply. Fitzgerald said culinary water for the downstream communities is not affected, but ground water in the canyon is at risk and the situation is unhealthy overall for the canyon environment. "Macroinvertebrates are one measure of an environment's health," he said. Previous owners and operators of the various mines are ultimately responsible for the costs of cleanup, which could run into the hundreds of thousands of dollars. Even the tailings on forest land or public property will be traced back to the mine of origin and the appropriate owner or operator will be billed where that's feasible. Fitzgerald said responsible parties, including corporations and descendants of mine claimants, are currently being contacted and will be told what they'll be expected to do. Affected governmental agencies, such as the Health Department, will be asked to join in to form a partnership to oversee the reclamation, Clark said. The public will be further informed about the situation within the next couple of weeks and some restrictions may go into effect such as limiting the four-wheeler activity near some of the tailings. Public reaction will be measured and if needed, public hearings will be scheduled before reclamation begins. The reclamation effort is expected to start within the next year and to be completed in October 2002. The leaking piles will be isolated. A series of man-made "cells," or artificial wetlands, will be constructed below the tailings and designed to capture the silt and metal before it enters the mainstream.
Old Goa Highway Widening: House Demolished But Govt Failed To Rehabilitate: Owner
 
07:05
Old Goa Highway Widening: House Demolished But Govt Failed To Rehabilitate: Owner
Views: 7704 ingoanews
Philsaga Rescue Team
 
00:43
Views: 29432 mx
2015 Quarry Crusher Run
 
01:24:08
The Quarry Crusher Run is the only race of its kind in the southeast. This once-in-a-lifetime look inside a magnificent landscape that is prohibited to the general public will leave a lasting memory in addition to the aching of your muscles and bones. The approximately 3.72-mile route starts and finishes near the Olympia-Granby Mills in the Olympia Village, but it grows each year as the quarry gets deeper. Once in the quarry, the route winds down a 10% grade through granite cliffs to the quarry floor. The approximately 400-foot ascent from the quarry floor to the finish marks the grueling event as Columbia’s most challenging foot race.
Views: 676 Start2Finish
Resolution Copper mine tailings storage facility overview
 
04:31
A visualization of what mine tailings (waste rock) storage will look like in the future when the mine becomes operational. Reclamation and remediation of the stored tailings will be an ongoing process throughout the mining cycle in order to mitigate environmental impacts. Resolution Copper will use cutting edge technology for a state of the art modern mine that will be operated responsibly according to our commitment to sustainable development and environmental stewardship.
Views: 4318 Resolution Copper
Kwekwe women in Mining defying odds by Irene Kalulu
 
03:09
Mining in Zimbabwe has always been believed to be a men's thing. Even in the face of some societal barriers, placed to make Mining a difficult industry for women to penetrate, 73 year old Tracey Duro rose to the challenge and has been running her Mining company since 1988.
Philsaga High School Foundation Inc. Senior High School Ad
 
07:12
Created by: NEILJOHN B. ORILLA
Views: 1036 Neiljohn Orilla
Asansol Mine Workers Struggle as Land Beneath Them Sinks #LokSabhaElections2019
 
13:38
Sadak Se Sansad is supported by Quantum AMC. To grow your money no matter what the election outcome invest with Quantum Mutual Fund Click here to know more - https://www.quantumamc.com/Campaign/Election-Dont-Matter1/Elections-Wire1.html#investment In this special story from the Asansol Lok Sabha constituency, we take you to the Kenda village where excessive mining has forced people to flee their villages. Black smoke, recurring fires and sinking land have disturbed the ecological balance in the area and the people say that they haven't been rehabilitated even after many promises. Watch this video to know how the pursuit of higher profits through overproduction by private players has affected the daily lives of the locals. Subscribe to our YouTube channel and click the bell icon to receive instant notifications whenever a new episode is live. We will bring you at least one new episode every day! Click here to support The Wire: https://thewire.in/support #Asansol #WestBengal #LokSabhaElections2019 #Mining #SadakSeSansad #GroundReport #TheWire
Views: 8048 The Wire
How a $100,000 Speaker gets made! - Meridian Facility Tour - LG XBOOM Go
 
15:53
Thanks to LG for sponsoring this video! Check out their new line of XBOOM Go speakers below: LG XBOOM Go (UK): http://bit.ly/30b9QmP LG XBOOM Go (US): https://bit.ly/2uBpUjk #LGXBOOM #XBOOMGo #MERIDIANAudio Discuss on forum: https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/1063597-building-a-100000-speaker-meridian-x-lg-facility-tour/ Linus Tech Tips merchandise at http://www.LTTStore.com/ Linus Tech Tips posters at http://crowdmade.com/linustechtips Our Test Benches on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips Our production gear: http://geni.us/cvOS Twitter - https://twitter.com/linustech Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/LinusTech Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/linustech Twitch - https://www.twitch.tv/linustech Intro Screen Music Credit: Title: Laszlo - Supernova Video Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKfxmFU3lWY iTunes Download Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712 Artist Link: https://soundcloud.com/laszlomusic Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High http://www.youtube.com/approachingnirvana
Views: 792032 Linus Tech Tips
Denver Federal Center: GSA Urban Mining Project - 11.1.2011
 
02:25
http://gsa.gov/r8 GSA Rocky Mountain Region partners with the EPA to appreciate the importance of Electronics Recycling and how this industry is supporting the local economy. 1-31-13 Ewaste.mp4
Today's American Policies of Genocide: Uranium Mining on Indigenous land.
 
02:52
We hear a lot about toxic water in Flint, Michigan which has has been happening in Native communities as well. No clean drinking water [environmental racism] for the Lakota people? A perfect example of American policies of genocide of the Indigenous people of the US today. Watch FULL DOC: youtube.com/watch?v=JusBAxa40Bc Follow us @ https://www.facebook.com/iloveancestry https://twitter.com/LovingAncestry http://iloveancestry.tumblr.com http://pinterest.com/iloveancestry http://www.instagram.com/iloveancestry https://www.google.com/+iloveancestry REALITY CHECK! There is more than 3000 abandoned open pit uranium mines on the land of the Great Sioux Nation for 40 years. Winona LaDuke wrote an article in 1992 mentioning that President Nixon declared a National Sacrifice Area to Radiation for the treaty territory of the Great Sioux Nation and the Navajo. A Perfect Example of Today's American Policies of Genocide! Short video clip from Red Cry documentary film: Red Cry is an original, feature-length documentary film chronicling the lives of Lakota Elders and Oyate in the face of ongoing genocide against the Lakota by government and corporate interests. I Love Ancestry exists to empower people to seek knowledge of ancestral heritage, preserve historical truth, and unite like-minded people. At I Love Ancestry, we envision a world where people embrace their own and each other's roots, celebrate diversity, and advocate for indigenous cultures. Our Website: http://iloveancestry.com
Views: 1257 I Love Ancestry
SDLG interview with Frans Mare
 
00:45
SDLG AND BABCOCK - A PERFECT COMBINATION FOR SOUTHERN SERVICES’ CLAY EXTRACTION Every month, Southern Services cc. – under contract to Imerys South Africa (Pty) Ltd - is mining some 40,000m3 of material and screening up to 16,000 tonnes at what is South Africa’s premium clay deposit in ModiMolle, some 130km north of Pretoria. The Imerys Refractory Minerals (Pty) Ltd Cyferfontein clay quarry, which presently covers a pit area of approximately 11-hectares and a mining area of approximately 32 hectares, boasts rich reserves of CY16 (red), CY19 (yellow) and CY21 (white) clay, which is used predominantly by the ceramics industry for the manufacture of floor and wall tiles. The highest quality CY21 clay is also used in the production of sanitary ware. Owner at Southern Services, Frans Mare’ says: “We operate two 6-hour shifts per day with a single shift on Saturdays and Sundays off. At the stockpiling and processing end of the business we rely totally on an SDLG LG968 and an SDLG LG958L to manage the mined material, feed the Pilot modular plant which crushes and screens product 40mm and load trucks for transportation to designated factories.” The SDLG LG958L, which is still in perfect running order, was the second ever SDLG wheel loader to be sold by Babcock International in South Africa and has now been on site for four years amassing over 8,800 hours. Meanwhile the larger 18-tonne class LG968, although newer, already boasts 4,000 hours. “Overall, we are extremely happy with our decision to take SDLG wheel loaders,” says Frans. “We work both machines hard, but we also regularly service and maintain them. I am a firm believer in preventative maintenance as well as the fact that if you look after your equipment it will look after you, and this has certainly proven to be the case with these SDLG wheel loaders. Reliability has shone through and I would categorically state that SDLG is by far the best Chinese machine available.” Frans adds that in terms of productivity there is little to choose between the SDLG loaders and the more expensive premium brand alternatives. “With these two machines, we’re loading the hopper of the screen with some 16,000 tonnes/month. We’re continually layering the stockpiles and we’re loading trucks with what I estimate to be 176,000 tonnes/annum. In anyone’s book that is impressive productivity from just two machines.” Southern Services cc. has been mining the same vein of clay for the past 13-years and in that time Frans estimates his team has extracted some 1.6 million tonnes. “The red CY16 clay is ordinarily between 1m and 6m down, so before we start extraction we have to move large quantities of topsoil and overburden,” he explains. “We constantly use this for backfilling to rehabilitate the mined areas once clay extraction is completed.” The white CY21 clay is found even deeper, sometimes as much as 10-20m down, which makes extraction a challenging exercise. “Safety is always the number one priority for us,” says Frans. “To this end, the SDLG wheel loaders suit our operation perfectly. Both operator access and all-round visibility are excellent and we’ve fitted LED spotlights to enhance safety in low light conditions. All told, I’m extremely happy with these machines and the support we receive from Babcock International. The service provided to us is excellent and the knowledge of the team at Babcock really is second-to-none. It is this combination that has motivated us to invest in SDLG wheel loaders from Babcock International. With this level of backup between manufacturer and distributor you cannot go wrong.”
Farmers 'disgusted' as proposal at abandoned mine canned
 
07:01
Email Farmers 'disgusted' as proposal at abandoned central Queensland gold mine canned ABC Capricornia By Emilia Terzon Photo: The old gold mine is one of Queensland's biggest abandoned mines. (ABC News: Dominique Schwartz) Farmers who live near one of Queensland's biggest abandoned mines believe they have just lost their last chance for a toxic environmental legacy to be reversed.They are now calling on the state to finally rehabilitate the old Mount Morgan gold mine instead."This has gone on long enough," farmer Neal Johansen said.Since 2014, Australian company Carbine Resources had been working on a proposal to pull copper, pyrite and gold tailings from the abandoned mine, south-west of Rockhampton. Photo: The Dee River at Dululu, 55km downstream from the Mount Morgan mine in Queensland, went blue in 2013 after the gold mine overflowed. (ABC News: Ian Townsend) The site leaks waste into the nearby Dee River and, in 2013 after ex-tropical Cyclone Oswald, its acidic dams overflowed into the river for the first time in its history.Last month, Carbine Resources announced it had doubts about the financial viability of the project.It asked for a renegotiation of its terms with the companies that currently control the old site's mining lease, and asked the Queensland Government for a contribution of $25 million.It argued that a royalties reduction or grant was warranted because its proposal would help clean up the toxic site, and local farmers backed its cause.Board blames 'key stakeholders' for unviable projectOn Friday, Carbine Resources announced it was completely pulling the pin on the project."The board's resolution is a direct result of the company not being able to achieve any meaningful outcomes with the key stakeholders to improve the terms of the various agreements associated with the project to increase returns to an acceptable level," it said in a statement to the ASX. Photo: Ian Scott is disappointed that Carbine Resources is not going ahead with its proposal. (ABC News: Emilia Terzon) Ian Scott, who lives near the Dee River, said the announcement was disappointing.Mr Johansen, who is also the chairman of the local Landcare Group, agreed."I'm pretty disgusted actually. I think the Queensland Government looked a gift horse in the mouth and just watched it run away," he said.In a statement, a State Government spokeswoman told the ABC it had made "a significant confidential offer to the company just this week" under its Jobs and Regional Growth Funding Initiative.The Government would not confirm if the offer matched Carbine Resource's $25 million request.Carbine Resources and the other companies involved were not available for comment.Renewed calls for site to be rehabilitated Carbine Resources is at least the third company that has proposed to mine the site's old tailings since it shut down more than three decades ago, and neither Mr Scott and Mr Johansen believe another company will try again. Photo: The Dee River was
Views: 7 Tran Nam
MINISTER OF INFO. ,Kojo Oppong Nkrumah answers questions from Ghanaians. 2 yrs of NPP Govt in power
 
01:49:12
Brilliant minister of information answers all the questions of Ghanaians on the occasion of President Akufo-Addo and his NPP government's 2 years anniversary in power and delivering on their promises! • We promised Free SHS to reduce the hardship on parents and we have delivered: • We promised to restore teacher training allowances to reduce the hardship on teacher trainees and we have delivered. • We promised to restore nursing training allowances to reduce the hardship on nursing trainees and we have delivered. • We promised to establish a Zongo Development Fund and we have delivered. • We promised a renewed focus on agriculture through the Planting For Food and Jobs program and we have delivered. • We promised to issue National ID Cards and we are delivering. • We promised to implement a National Property Digital Address System and we have delivered. • We promised to digitise the clearance of goods at the ports through paperless ports and we have delivered. • We promised to establish three Development Authorities (Northern, Middle Belt and Coastal) and we have delivered. • We promised a One District One Factory program and we are delivering. • We promised a One Village One Dam program and we are delivering. • We promised a One District One Warehouse program and we are delivering. • We promised to implement a Nation Builders Corps program to reduce the hardships on the graduate unemployed and we have delivered • We promised to implement a National Entrepreneurship and Innovation Program to provide support and reduce hardships of entrepreneurs and we have delivered • We promised to rehabilitate VALCO to resume operations and we have delivered. • We promised to leverage our natural resources to obtain a $2 billion innovative infrastructure financing arrangement with Sinohydro and we have delivered. • We promised to establish integrated bauxite and aluminium industry and we are delivering • We promised to implement mobile money interoperability and we have delivered. • We promised to reduce electricity prices and we have delivered. • We promised to reduce the hardship in obtaining a drivers license and we have delivered. • We promised to reduce the hardship in obtaining a passport and we have delivered • We promised to reduce the hardships in renewing the national health insurance and we have delivered. • We promised to establish an Office of the Special Prosecutor on Corruption and we have delivered. • We promised to revive Ghana’s railways and we are on course. • We promised a transparent allocation of Ghana’s oil blocs and we have delivered. • We promised to reverse the trend of declining economic growth and we have delivered. • We promised to restore discipline in the management of our public finances and we have delivered with lower fiscal deficits. • We promised to pass a fiscal Responsibility Act and we have delivered. • We promised to establish a Fiscal Council and we have delivered. • We promised to Establish a Financial Stability Council and we have delivered • We promised to reduce inflation to single digits and we have delivered. • We promised to reduce interest rates and we are delivering. • We promised to keep our exchange rate relatively stable even in the midst of global volatilities and we have delivered. • We promised to reverse Ghana’s trade position with the rest of the world from deficit to surplus and we have delivered. • We promised to reduce taxes and we reduced and abolished 17 different taxes in two years. We have delivered. • We promised to revive the NHIS and we have cleared the GHC1.2 billion arrears inherited under the NHIS. The NHIS is working again. We have delivered. • We promised to move away from a predominance of sole sourcing to tendering in procurement and we have delivered. • We promised to bring about a change from destructive galamsey activities to a more regulated small scale mining activities and we have delivered. • We promised to reduce the hardships of the disabled and increase the share of the DACF to persons with disabilities by 50%. We have delivered. • We promised to double the Capitation Grant and we have delivered. - We promised to create six new regions and we have delivered. It has been two years of hard but fruitful work for the people of Ghana. We thank God for President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo!!! It has been an honour for me Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia to serve as his Vice-President. We look forward to a blossoming 2019.
Views: 7735 joe Quaye
Redisand's sand washing process
 
01:08
The front end loader feeds the dump hopper with raw feed sand which is then conveyed up to the first stage of screening. The first stage screen is fitted with over 16 high pressure sprays and also has an integrate 200mm recirculation water stream that washes the sand through a .8mm screen removing and scalping any organic and bio mass. The organic bio mass scalps is then used for onsite rehabilitation which is defined as anything +.8mm. Sand which is minus .8mm is predominantly washed through the screen mesh into a slurry tank washing further impurities. Then the sand is pumped up 3 stages where it is run through the cyclones where the first dewatering occurs with the return water diverted back into the production stream. Then the dewatered slurry is discharged onto the dewater screen where it is shaken up a reverse incline separating the remaining portion of water from the sand, when the sand discharges the dewatering process the material is then stockpiled on a radial stacker ready for dispatch.
Views: 1394 Redisand
Green Gold  - Documentary by John D. Liu
 
47:31
"It's possible to rehabilitate large-scale damaged ecosystems." Environmental film maker John D. Liu documents large-scale ecosystem restoration projects in China, Africa, South America and the Middle East, highlighting the enormous benefits for people and planet of undertaking these efforts globally. Follow John D. Liu's work: Environmental Education Media Project: http://eempc.org/ What If We Change restoration media project: http://www.whatifwechange.org Restoring Large Scaled Damaged Ecological Systems: http://greendeserts.wordpress.com/ Research, Training and Innovation Centers for Ecological Restoration: https://www.facebook.com/Innovationcenters/ Papers and other documentaries: https://knaw.academia.edu/JohnDLiu More information about permaculture designer Geoff Lawton's Greening the Desert project in Jordan: http://permaculturenews.org/2007/03/01/greening-the-desert-now-on-youtube/ Join us for PERMACULTURE DAY 2015: IN SUPPORT OF SOIL on SUNDAY 3RD MAY! http://www.permacultureday.org. Join us online: Website: http://www.permacultureday.org Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/InternationalPermacultureDay In Support of Soil Facebook event: http://bit.ly/IPD2015 Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/permacultureday #SoilSupporter #IPD2015 #IYS2015 Google+: https://www.google.com/+PermacultureDay Newsletter: http://bit.ly/IPDNewsletter
Views: 771233 Permaculture Day
Kelompok Peduli Lingkungan Belitung, Indonesia - Equator Prize 2015 Winner
 
05:56
On an archipelago off the east coast of Sumatra that has been devastated by tin mining and unmitigated industrial development, Kelompok Peduli Lingkungan Belitung is working to rehabilitate, protect, and sustainably manage coastal resources. Community management of coral reefs, mangroves, fishing zones, and tropical forests has led to improved livelihoods and the restoration of a unique marine and coastal ecosystem. The group has effectively created three programs that balance environmental protection with ecotourism, including the Kepayang Island Conservation Center (for training, environmental education and turtle conservation), the Mendanau Mangrove Conservation Center (for mangrove and tropical rainforest protection), and the Batu Mentas Nature Reserve and Tarsius Sanctuary (which protects a threatened population of tarsius). Scuba diving, jungle treks, river tubing, tarsius expeditions, mangrove tours, homestays, fishing tours, and boat rentals all are run by and directly benefit the local population. The group has successfully advocated for the creation of a regional marine conservation plan that includes no-take and sustainable fishing zones as well as five island turtle conservation areas, where more than 12,000 baby turtles have been released over the past five years. More than 45,000 mangrove trees have been replanted to date, and the group oversees community nurseries that cultivate 20,000 seedlings. Read more here: http://equatorinitiative.org/index.php?option=com_winners&view=winner_detail&id=227&Itemid=683&lang=en
Views: 125 Equator Initiative
Lao NEWS on LNTV: SCG's names as the world's top sustainable development.27/11/2014
 
04:45
VO SCG's Thai cement plant names as the world's top sustainable development model in the construction materials industry INTRO: SCG's Thai cement plant names as the world's top sustainable development model in the construction materials industry. It is the company's strong commitment to the dual function of running a business while conserving the environment and benefiting society that has earned the Siam Cement Group calls SCG a well-deserved accolade within the industry. STORY: SCG was recently named by the Dow Jones Sustainability Indexes (DJSI) as the world's top sustainable development model in the construction materials industry for the fourth year running. SCG's cement plant in Lampang province in central northern Thailand is a showpiece of ‘green' factory success and has made the plant a model of sustainable development in business operations. As part of the 4th Asean Sustainable Development Symposium hosted by SCG in Thailand, media personnel from Laos, Indonesia, Myanmar, the Philippines and Vietnam were invited by SCG to cover the event and then visit its cement factory in Lampang province. Interview: Surachai Nimlao, Managing Director of the Siam Cement Company Limited …. Thai…. Speaking to our news team, Managing Director of the Siam Cement Company Limite d in Lampang province, Surachai Nimlao, “We have been replanting trees to preserve the forest in line with our sustainable development programmes since 1994. Now this area is abundant with green forest, animals and other species.” The plant is striding forward with its mission to contribute to society and the environment through its four main commitments: job creation, community development, environmental preservation, and being a good citizen of Lampang. Interview: Surachai Nimlao, Managing Director of the Siam Cement Company Limited …. Thai…. In terms of green energy use, the company uses garbage to make fuel. This naturally sourced fuel is used in the cement production process. About 2 tonnes of garbage is collected for recycling, of which about 300kg is converted into fuel. Previously, garbage generated in the area wasn't recycled but was just burned. The cement production process and electricity generation also make use of the Waste Heat Generation Project (WHG), whereby steam is produced in a steam generator. This is used to drive the steam turbine, which generates electricity that in turn supplies the production process. After mining, SCG plans to rehabilitate the quarry to benefit nearby communities. SCG produces five types of cement products: concrete structures with high comprehensive strength, non-prestressed concrete, wall plastering, and two forms of general products. In 2013, SCG invested in the construction of greenfield cement plants in Laos, Indonesia and Myanmar. These projects will also be carried out using the sustainable development concept by employing clean technology that has a minimal impact on the environment. Over its 100 years of operation, the Group has conducted business in line with sustainable development principles and with a determination to bring the maximum benefits to society, the environment, and all stakeholders. The factory opened in 1994 and in 1996 began producing grey cement, with a production capacity of 2.4 million tonnes per year. The plant is located within the National Conserved Forest Economic Zone.
Views: 928 LNTV English NEWS
SC gives green signal to POSCO for iron ore mining in Odisha
 
03:27
The Supreme Court on Friday gave a green signal to POSCO to continue with iron ore mining in Odisha. The court quashed Odisha High Court's order, which had set aside the state government's petition to allot iron ore licence to POSCO in the Kandahar hills. The state government had granted a licence to POSCO in 2009, which had been set aside by the High Court in 2010.
Views: 225 CNN-News18
കല്ല്യാണം അല്‍പ്പം നീട്ടി വെക്കാനാകുമോ..? സ്വര്‍ണ്ണ വില കുത്തനെ കുറയും. 5000ത്തില്‍ താഴെയാകും Gold
 
03:16
More Videos Click : https://goo.gl/ifnK8V An ordinary event at first glance. Natives had been mining gold for centuries with varying degrees of success, with small mining towns popping up and closing down as and when gold was found and exhausted. The gold sighted at Pilgrims Rest, however, was different. It ran for miles underground and was considered an endless treasure, a discovery which would change the face of Transvaal and jumpstart what was known as the Gold Rush. Within a decade, South Africa’s first incorporated gold mining company was formed. Traansvaal Gold Mining Estate (TGME) came into being in 1895 and to this day continues to hold mining claims to the gold field at Pilgrims Rest. “TGME has been owned by a number of public and private companies,” explains Bill Guy, Chairman of Theta Gold Mines, formerly known as Stonewall Resources. “These included Rand Mines, who acquired TGME in 1968, operating it until 1998 when it was sold to Simmer and Jack, a private company which held TGME until 2010, when it was sold to Stonewall. Stonewall listed in 2012 to focus on the underground mining potential.” Now listed on the Australian Stock Exchange, Theta Gold Mines is progressing the open pit resources of the goldfield which contains 43 historical mines across a prospective area of 62,000 hectares. The development involves refurbishing the processing plant which has not produced commercial volumes since 2015. “While our corporate head office is in Sydney, Australia, in South Africa we have two teams that are active all year round,” continues Guy. “The environmental and legal teams actively manage and progress the permits of the 620-square-kilometre mining tenure, ensuring compliance with South African legislation and mining regulations. “At the mine site itself and the TGME plant, approximately 22 staff and contractors maintain the offices, machinery sheds, work areas and large infrastructure storage facility at Sabie, a few kilometres south of Pilgrims Rest.” Exploration and expansion In bringing TGME back to life, Theta Gold Mines is busy developing a number of exploration and expansion projects. “This year the Company has developed a strong exploration culture,” says Guy. “This has allowed for the expansion of the 2012 JORC gold resource as we are aggressively updating geological data base and drilling holes. “The historical mine plans and drill data have been put into GIS packages and digitised into 3D. The reef is projected to the surface and is targeted for exploration. This large historical gold field has experienced very little modern exploration, but we have made over two million ounces of gold discovery this year.” The most significant project underway is at the Theta Hill mine. The development is immediately adjacent to the Company’s carbon in leach plant at Pilgrims Rest and has been the focus of recent drilling activity. “Theta Hill Mine expects to release its first feasibility study in the first quarter of 2019,” Guy continues. “As the Company begins its steady conversion of this large 5.75-million-ounce gold resource and resource gold ounces are pushed up the value chain from inferred to indicated to probable, confidence will grow.” The feasibility study will prove vital, providing timelines and costing for production at the site. The Company also plans to make Theta Hill something of a flagship regarding its minimal environmental impact. Using a technique called contour haul-back, often used by the coal industry for mining shallow thin seams, Theta Gold Mines will be able to reduce earth works and leave the natural contours of the hill intact. This, creation of local jobs and the restoration of a 130-year legacy will all help build a strong case to support the rehabilitation of mining in the local area. Mining magnates Theta Gold Mines boasts a leadership team with formidable industry experience. Here is some background on Bill Guy and Managing Director Rob Thomson: Bill Guy Bill Guy is a professional mining executive and geologist with over 25 years’ experience in exploration and resource development in Asia, Australia and Europe, most recently as the Managing Director of Longford Resources. In previous executive and geology roles he has been involved in all aspects of the mining industry inclusive of capital raisings, project acquisition, development, and discovery with Jupiter Mines. Rob Thomson Rob Thomson commenced his mining engineering career in underground gold mining in Southern Africa. In multiple roles as executive director, CEO and hands-on site project director and general manager, he has progressed eight exploration projects through late stage exploration, studies, permitting, financing, construction and mining operations. Setting a new standard Indeed, this sustainable approach is a key differentiator for Guy. LIVE UPDATES PLEASE LIKE OUR FB PAGE: https://www.facebook.com/videostrawberry
Views: 96215 Video Strawberry
Trinidad and Tobago Hope Centre Layers
 
05:00
Trinidad , Hope , Centre, rehabilitation, Orphanage ,
Views: 8005 Romero Peters
Ajaokuta Steel Company Back Under Nigeria's Control -- Fayemi
 
12:57
For more information log on to http://www.channelstv.com
Views: 17712 Channels Television
SCIENCE INNOVATIONS | Episode 04: Responsible Sustainable Mining
 
49:11
SCIENCE INNOVATIONS Episode 04: Responsible Sustainable Mining hosted by DR. GISELA CONCEPCION Scientist, UP Marine Science Institute with DR. MARIO AURELIO UP National Institute of Geological Sciences DR. PERRY ONG UP Institute of Biology SCIENCE INNOVATIONS is a program which will feature scientists and their scientific innovations that are ongoing applications, as well as innovations ear-marked for assessment and evaluation. This is likewise a venue for sharing of successful scientific discoveries and inventions that are now being enjoyed by the communities and the entire nation. SUNDAYS AT 8 PM REPLAYS ON MONDAYS AND SATURDAYS only on http://www.TVUP.ph/ TVUP | University of the Philippines' Internet TV Network TVUP (TVUP.ph) is an Internet television (webcast) network operated by the University of the Philippines which delivers free content for information and educational purposes. It will participate in generating open educational resources (OERs) to be made public by producing its own materials and collecting other content from existing sources. TVUP is a testament to the University of the Philippines’ character as the national university — a teaching, research, public service, and global/regional university — shared freely with all state universities and colleges, private and public higher training institutions, other training institutions, and the general public. Website | http://www.TVUP.ph/ YouTube | http://www.youtube.com/TVUPph Facebook | http://www.facebook.com/TVUP.ph Twitter | http://www.twitter.com/TVUPph
Views: 409 TVUP
Rosedale Mine Underground Exploration - The Hole Of Doom!
 
13:22
This one was a bit interesting...located in southwestern Socorro County, the Rosedale Mine started up in the 1880s, but operations never fully took off due to the constant threat of Apache Indian attacks. The mine was later reworked during the Great Depression, a common occurrence in that period. Recently, permits have been filed with the New Mexico Mines & Minerals Division to drill the site for core samples. At the time of my visit, a CAT bulldozer on site had been used to construct numerous temporary roads and drill pads, all located along the vein. The permits are still pending, but potential exists for the Rosedale to return to production as a small, non-corporate operation (thus performing an end run around virtually all the regulatory red tape that has become the bane of the mining industry) sometime in the near future. I wonder if the prospective owner/operator is crazy enough to rehabilitate that vertical shaft... Workings on the site consist of a 732ft vertical shaft with fifteen drift levels, and an adit connecting to open stopes. Both are located along the strike of the ore vein, which seems to be several feet wide in some areas, and dips roughly 80 degrees below the horizontal. I entered the adit, and almost immediately found myself face-to-face with a winze of indeterminate depth, located right in the middle of the main haulage drift! I'm not sure if this was used for ventilation, or as an ore pass, or to access lower portions of the stope, but I didn't want to stick around to find out!
Views: 621 Headframe Hunters
BOI Weekly: Mining Firm Uses Igneous Rock To Make Aggregate Stones For Building
 
13:45
Located on a large expanse of land of approximately 3 Kadestra Unit of block in Gallowy Village, Bwari Local Government Area Of Abuja, Houtex Resources Nigeria Limited, began operations about a year ago, making one of the finest variables of aggregate stones for building construction in the region For more information log on to http://www.channelstv.com
Views: 1923 Channels Television