HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: goldfries

The XFX RX 580 GTS XXX Edition 8GB Review

203 ratings | 48538 views
Some say it looks ugly, some say it's nice - whatever it is, the XFX RX 580 GTS XXX Edition 8GB delivers and it's a pretty good card, though I wish AMD's Polaris 'refresh' was better tuned to be more power efficient. Product page : http://xfxforce.com/en-us/products/amd-radeon-rx-500-series/rx-580-gts-8gb-dd-rx-580p8dfd6 goldfries can be reached at - Website : https://www.goldfries.com - Youtube : http://www.youtube.com/goldfries - Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/goldfries.fanpage - Instagram : http://www.instagram.com/goldfries - Twitter : http://www.twitter.com/goldfries
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (84)
Ryan Xhype (1 month ago)
its good for ryzen 5 2600 ?? please answer please bro
goldfries (1 month ago)
Sure, why not? If it fits your budget then please buy. You get 2 free games as well! Just scout around for something of a good price, offers are all over the place. I believe AMD is clearing out the inventory as new cards are coming soon.
billy bob bob (2 months ago)
MORE RAM=MORE POWER WORTH IT.
fmj 556 (2 months ago)
Please get a mic.
goldfries (2 months ago)
Thanks but this is a very old video you know.
seujiro hiko (3 months ago)
Hi: i just saw your video and even it is from 2017 i liked a lot and i want to make you a question: I recently bought this XFX RX580 8gb and a PNY XLR8 GTX 1060 6GB in Amazon. I will only keep with one of them si I want to make the right choice. In terms of design, size and and power consumption I like more the 1060 because my chasis is not so big, it is a cooler master elite 431 plus and the RX 580 is so big. But almost everyone tells to me that the RX580 is better. I have a ryzen 5 1600, 16 gb of ram and and an evga 500br power supply. I use my computer for "ocasional gaming, video conversion and bluray menu creation". I want to know what you think about it. Whick one is better?
Glass (2 months ago)
I would say the 580. Mostly beats the 1060 while having more VRAM and better software from AMD. 1060 isn't a bad choice either, just not as good as the 580 in my opinion.
Peter Laws (3 months ago)
Who moered you
Karsten kramer (3 months ago)
du er altså stadig lidt beskidt i hovedet, kan du evt gå i bad og vaske det af?
Adriaan Ater (4 months ago)
first rule of fight club.......
Frisky Fella (1 month ago)
Don't talk about fight club
Karsten Kramer (4 months ago)
du er lidt beskidt i dit hovede
Austin Akens (5 months ago)
Hey are you still using this card by chance? And is it doing good? Would you recommend it for $130?
Silas Boyden (3 months ago)
+DivineMoment xfx warranty cannot be transfered
DivineMoment (4 months ago)
+Austin Akens If you get receipt and warranty then yes imo
Austin Akens (5 months ago)
+goldfries Yea, $130 USD. It's used but seems like a good price!
goldfries (5 months ago)
I think if you can get this model at $130 then it's really good but do consider the RX 590 as well, it comes with 3 games bundle.
ImANewManFacts (5 months ago)
Just bought this card and searched it up on youtube. There are so many assholes. Don’t listen to them man. Good video.
Alex (5 months ago)
I don't get why everybody is hating, I would like to see everybody else try to create a video
goldfries (5 months ago)
Thank you
Anthony Ashley Cooper (6 months ago)
u are bullshit lol look at gta 5 graphs my ryzen apu gets higher fps than these high end cards that u have lol a normal real gtx 1060 would give atleast 70fps in gta 5 wtf r you trying to do.
John Johnson (6 months ago)
this card is shit xfx r580 dont buy cant stream and play at the same time and some times just shut down while playing always saying a problem with mantel i had r9 270 and it did fine im done with amd cards going with the green guys asap
Boiling Ramen (23 days ago)
When you copy and paste your comment on different videos lol
Jake (7 months ago)
Is your stepdad an alcoholic?
wafflemaker ACP (8 months ago)
like to dislike ratio OOF!!
goldfries (8 months ago)
I'm a horrible presenter, what to do..............
Smita (10 months ago)
Really not an experienced opinion, I posted a ink below. Idiots who decided to become youtubers, are posting hardware review, because they know a little bit, and people who don't know anything will listen to 'THE GUY' with the knowledge doing review on the card they want, when they have no technical knowldge of hardware, PCB design , components used in VRMs etc. They are bit warmer, but not a problem for their components, and it doesn't use that much power! Look this : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Sgvn1jECss Don't listen to this guys, they are not real hardware experts, neither am I , but I know enough to see he is talking bullshit and this is a short crap review, with no real tests of any kind.
goldfries (10 months ago)
Smita Thank you. Go ahead and browse the channels you like.
MaxReckless99 (10 months ago)
what ???please stop this
STYNCLSY (11 months ago)
Nice review I just bought 1
Smita (1 year ago)
What does he mean it performs pretty much as a 1060? I always thought my RX580s (my cards are exactly like this one by the way) is somewhat equal to the 1070, and then the 1070ti is more powerful, yes. For Gaming I don't know exactly frames and real tests, I tested on cryptomining, and in Ethereum the 1070Ti is about 33MH/s if I remember correct, this card is a 30 at the moment of this comment. I guess the 1070 non TI ver is within the range of RX580, and the 1080 is within the range of Vega 56, and 1080Ti fighting with RX Vega 64.. ? Maybe, I don't know, just logically thinking from looking at the segments on the market, the series lineup, etc.
Kadri X (8 months ago)
No, 580 is a bit faster than a 1060 but slower than a 1070, vega 56 is a bit faster than the gtx 1070, but slower that the 1070ti, vega 64 is a bit faster than the 1080 but slower than the 1080ti.
DISLIKE
temp gpu?
goldfries (1 year ago)
Refer to 1:45 please.
boots 1131 (1 year ago)
what are you saying
brimmothy sb // Ty Brimm (10 months ago)
boots 1131 les nah foget
Dagobert Duck (1 year ago)
You can Control the power by clock Speed or Memory Speed or voltage with afterburner...
darklinkjr12 (1 year ago)
who the fuck is snoring in the background
Dev Guy (1 year ago)
Good mention on power draw, I agree, sound like the clocked it higher to squeeze out the performance and simply dropped more ram onto the card.
mall cop (1 year ago)
what he didnt tell you is the rx 580 is 40.00 cheaper then the gtx 1060 so offsett the 27% power in my book
AzSam Pako (1 year ago)
Yeah if you use it for 10 years a few hours per day it will cost more than a 1060. Even if they were eaqualli priced the 580 is the faster and has more vram, its much more future proof than the 1060. And considering how nvidia stops updating drivers for older cards the rx 580 is clearly the winner.
Dev Guy (1 year ago)
what? i guess you get free electricity delivered to your home. over the lifetime use of this card it will cost you more.
David (1 year ago)
Is 4GB version worth buying for 250 € atm?
purplex (1 year ago)
Eknim i dont know neither, but if they even ship to netherlands i think the shipping costs shouldnt be that high. But it probably gonna be back on the normal price in atleast 2-3 days anyway
Eknim (1 year ago)
damn, just ordered mine for 25 euros more. i live in the netherlands though so idk if the shipping from germany would cancel that out
purplex (1 year ago)
https://www.heise.de/preisvergleich/xfx-radeon-rx-580-gts-xxx-edition-rx-580p8dfd6-rx-580p826d6-a1610169.html thats 8GB version for 249€
David (1 year ago)
8 GB models start at 330€ which is about 20€ more than a 1060 6GB with solid aftermarket cooler.
Eknim (1 year ago)
David save up for the 8 gig instead, 4 gigs is already starting to struggle in some games so 4 gigs will be obsolete in a year or two
miftachul huda (1 year ago)
How much the closed temperature? are you testing in open case ? mine is burning like hell GTA V almost 90C MSA 4X, VERY HIGH
Fundanchan (3 months ago)
Me 2 with gears of war 4 in ultra at 1440p
MD Zeus, (1 year ago)
have you changed fan settings? I believe I read elsewhere that the fans arent even designed to turn on until 60c so yeah... I changed mine after a test run of mining took it 90 before I immediately quit the mining program. Long story short: Fans were spinning barely when it skyrockted, I ended up basically changing the fans to spin at 20 and curve through to 75. Up to you how to set your curve up. But mining i stay at 70to75 and gaming is 55 to 70, hd streaming is 43
Mangela Snerkel (1 year ago)
me2
ANDREI GOLDENVIPERS (1 year ago)
Hello. Gj doing this review - I am interested in buying the XFX RX 580 GTS XXX Edition 8GB. What PSU should I get ? Thanks! You have my respect subscribed and like.
ANDREI GOLDENVIPERS (1 year ago)
Thank you!
miftachul huda (1 year ago)
minimum 500W , recommended 550W Silver or Higher rating always do better
Doc Lex (1 year ago)
what about power delivery, temperatures, cooling... what the fuck did you review? color of stickers?
goldfries (1 year ago)
Doc Lex Don't blame me if you missed the details St 1:47.
Doc Lex (1 year ago)
worst review ever
wafflemaker ACP (8 months ago)
JustThatSniper  yeet
JustThatSniper (11 months ago)
Don't listen to these type of people
goldfries (1 year ago)
Doc Lex Thank you. No one forced you to watch.
LucaXB1 (1 year ago)
who hit you?
Larky White (3 months ago)
+Adriaan Ater 🤣 oh my god that's great lol
Adriaan Ater (4 months ago)
first rule of fight club.......
eduardo m (4 months ago)
He was mining
KIng James (4 months ago)
Ur an asshole
Glorious Pandemonium (4 months ago)
The RX 580 probably..lol
Deano (1 year ago)
Are the red fan stickers removable
Boiling Ramen (23 days ago)
Deano I don’t know I don’t have it
Sean Hannold (1 year ago)
Has anyone overclocked this for mining?
Sean Hannold (1 year ago)
That's what I'm trying to figure out. Will let you know if I discover anything. I'm looking to flash mine with the ATI flash tool and change the timings. I just don't know if I will be able to game after I do the flash.
MTR23 (1 year ago)
Sean Hannold i have the xxx gts edition i use for gaming and mining ( while i'm sleeping or going out ) can you please tell me how much should i overclock the memory and core clock speed ?
Sam (1 year ago)
I just got that same one, how come some fans work and others don't at the same time?
Otto (1 year ago)
you know XXX got some good amount of factory OC which ofcourse means more power draw right, not that 480 doesn't come OCd with various brands but this card in particular has more extreme stock overclock numbers than the rest. If you look at some reviews, you'll see that they're within 5-8% power consumption range of each other and 580 doesn't just draw it for nothing it's actually much better in terms of performance so it does make up for the 5-8% extra it draws. eg source https://img.purch.com/o/aHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmJlc3RvZm1pY3JvLmNvbS8wL0kvNjY4NzU0L29yaWdpbmFsLzAwLVdhdHRhZ2UtT3ZlcnZpZXcucG5n Judge them based on gaming, not torture as 480 obviously throttled down there using even less than its gaming power usage.
Otto (1 year ago)
goldfries You could atleast try getting an aftermarket 480 and oc it to match with 580.I bet xfx got some 480s.Or even underclock the 580 and adjust it's power target % to be comparable with 480. About gta, You know no one is really going to realistically play the game with 8x MSAA right? There are synthetic benchmarks for the purpose of comparing raw performance but people will want to see real world performance when they look at gaming benchmarks, not settings like 8x aa which they'll never use. 480 doesn't really use under 150 until you turn "radeon chill" on which basically reduces image quality to compensate for lower power draw's lower performance. If you look at toms, the 480s benchmark/stress test power draw is 168 so despite being a reference model it's only 11 watts away from 580s reference. A more reasonable comparison would be either between stock 580 and xfx 580 (see what OC brings to the table) or an underclocked, undervolted and lower power target xfx 580 vs stock 480 comparison that is if you really want to compare power draw effeciency between them. Comparing these GPUs at same wattage is fairer. Or atleast by reducing the stock OC of xfx. Sorry if I'm a little harsh with criticism but I don't want people to be mislead. If you're still going to use 8x MSAA atleast mention it in the graph. There's really no real world benefit to 8x versus 4x or 2x+fxaa
goldfries (1 year ago)
Oh about the power draw - I get your point about using game, I might just go that path. I do know that Furmark stresses it a lot and may draw a bit more but that's how I maintain consistency on my tests. Another reason I do not use game in test is that games often involve CPU and that pretty much screws up the whole reading as it's tough to differentiate which one is for CPU and which one for GPU, furthermore difference scenes involve CPU and GPU differently. That's why I went Furmark. Maybe I should just use mining software for it, or [email protected] Let me know your thoughts on this one.
goldfries (1 year ago)
Thanks. 1. "Not having a good opinion of it" doesn't mean it's "Bad". It just means I can't praise it but as you can see I elaborated but have not came to a point to saying it's "Bad". 2. RX 480 is rated to be a 150w card. This is why when some sites reported it drew more than 150w there was a huge commotion. From my tests, it was under 150W. RX 580 is rated to draw 180w which is 20% more than the RX 480. Just Google up the "RX 580 180w" or "RX 480 150w". 3. You are correct that I used 8xAA because that's the settings i use across the board, I don't purposely lower the details just to make a card look good. That can be argued as misleading too. My apologies for saying the name wrongly at times, I'm very new in presentation and sometimes do make mistakes. :) Thank you for pointing them out, I really appreciate your feedback. And also about comparing at the same frequencies - nope, not unless anyone can find me an RX 480 with exact same frequency, unfortunately I do not have the luxury hence viewers will just have to just note that stock RX 480 is what it is.
Otto (1 year ago)
"I don't have a good opinion of it" 2:18 now you're contradicting yourself by saying that you didn't say it's bad. Stock RX580 is around 180W? Well RX480 Reference is at 164 Watts gaming 168 Watts stress test (source toms) and you say its rated to be under 150 watts in the video for rx480. Let's pretend you took 164 watts as a base for 480. "20%" of it is about 33 and that's 197 watts for 580.You then proceed to comparing it with a reference 480 card saying that this OCd version is "10% or less" faster for 20% more power consumption, all while in your own benchmark charts show as follows; XFX vs 480 Hitman 17.3% more Avg FPS Ashes of the singularity 20.5% more Avg FPS The Division 19.6% more Avg FPS Metro the last light 10% more Avg FPS 2:04 you call it an rx480 XFX Your GTA 5 benchmarks are a joke.It seems to me you turned up 8x MSAA because there's no way you can get such low FPS on any of these cards on maximum.I play that game everyday and I've played it on various hardware so far.Granted nvidia tends to run better on GTA V but even for that card 46 is way below what you get on highest settings with vsync/MSAA turned off. Compare it to another 480 at EXACT SAME frequencies and comment on its power usage, I'm fine with that.But you're comparing a factory OCd card to a reference card running at its slowest. As a so called tech channel you should know better than anyone that an overclocked hardware is ineffecient hardware in terms of power use.You gain a few clocks for much more power usage, heat generation etc. Unfair comparison, amateur mistakes made in the video, misleads people who might be interested in the card.Atleast be honest about it and make corrections via notes on specific times throughout the video.
goldfries (1 year ago)
Yeah, you notice I didn't say it's bad. Stock RX 580 is around 180W.
Panji Prathama (2 years ago)
the xfx logo has led or not?
goldfries (2 years ago)
Sticker only. No LED.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.